Archinect
anchor

should i put teaching experience on my cv if i want a job as an architect?

SALVA.GA

i am a recently graduated architect. i have been given a job at university to teach master and bachelor students History of architecture. my aim is not to continue teaching for the rest of my life i would like to find a job as an architect in a firm. this is just temporary. my point is . .. should i put teaching experience on my cv would that look good or will it just make it harder to get a job in an architecture firm?

Nov 29, 17 1:57 pm

if you are going to do some History work go ahead, but I would recommend that you do not do it because in an architecture firm that is not going to be relevant for the tasks you are going to perform.

Nov 29, 17 2:03 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

very bad advice. the teaching I did and included in my CV certainly helped as it showed the office's principles that I can communicate ideas clearly enough to teach others.

Nov 29, 17 2:45 pm  · 
 · 

You should use your teaching work experience until you build up more work experience and can leave it off once you can fill a resume with work experience from your time in firms. it is better than an employment gap.

Nov 30, 17 9:10 am  · 
 · 
TED

Suggest you do include on your CV. Teaching requires transferable skills to architecture including communication, organisation and presentation. Ask anyone who were teaching assistants while going to grad school - builds self-confidence in your ability to describe ideas succinctly.  

Nov 29, 17 2:09 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

Yes, do include it.  Because explaining things is the essence of what practicing architects do.  You are communicating your ideas and solutions to clients and then creating instructions to the builder.

Furthermore, once you are established as an architect, you will spend huge amounts of time teaching practical skills to recent graduates.

Nov 29, 17 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Do include, definitely.