Archinect
anchor

What’s next? I’m not passionate about designing or rendering

gilo

Hello, 

I’m a recently graduate architect, I have 2 years experiences working in an engineer company ( as architect) and another 3 years (the last ones) in a completely different field (public administration). So I finally got my architect degree but I’m not this passionate, workaholic, sacrificing and architectural breeding person as I used to be 8 years ago, when I was in my early years of college. 

For worst, I don’t know what I want, in one hand I like the research, the ideas of architecture is a lot more than just build a building or a house, but I can’t figure out what to do. We all know we need to put money on the table to pay bills and blablabla, but how to do it if you don’t want to become an employee and you don’t know where to start? 

I haven’t started looking for a new job yet, everybody keeps saying how awful the market it is, I have to start making a new architectural portafolio but I don’t even feel energy or inspiration to create it, and unfortunately this is the typical presentation card for architect. 

I would like some ideas, I don’t like stay hours and days in front my computer drawing plans either rendering models... opinions please, thanks a head. 

Sep 21, 17 11:07 pm
Non Sequitur

Gilo, try working in a smaller architecture office... not a uber large A&E joint.

Sep 21, 17 11:28 pm  · 
 · 
ecnal

Option - a. be born to rich parents.

Option - b. if you're not born to rich parents, inherit a lot of money

Option - c. if not a. or b, suck it up!

Sep 21, 17 11:43 pm  · 
 · 
joeuk

I say this to my kids. They are neither A or B, neither was I, C is always the best option. It is just harder.

Sep 22, 17 5:35 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

you keep saying it like marriage wasn't a job

Sep 28, 17 3:49 pm  · 
 · 
Nats