Archinect
anchor

Prospective Student in Arch Seeking life career advice

FramingJoe

I recently reviewed a post about a 30 year old making a career decision into Arch from Graphic Design and I can't help but relate since I am on the same crossroad. I used to be an account manager earning 38k at age 21, at that time I thought I could not do any better. Since then my life took a serious of drops and turns working from kitchen jobs to warehouse associate work, to film and photography production work. I never really discovered my true passion until I thought back of the science projects and drawings I used to do as a kid. I always wanted to work in field with a lot of creativity and science involved. I've always been fascinated with modernist structures, cityscapes, and the way these structures are engineered as well as designed. Currently I feel like I am in a dead end, some college education, no degree, working as a framer, age 28. Been a laborer for 3 years now from siding to renovation work. I respect the trades but I want to go deeper and do more in life than just work under the heat and build for builders and architects. I want to create and invest more in this field. My love and curiosity is growing greater for this. Whats the current status of the Arch industry? And what are some of the challenges that I face going in now? Does my construction background help at all?

Sep 20, 17 10:17 pm
thatsthat

Go for it if it's really want you want, but make sure it's REALLY what you want.  Maybe start with some drawing classes, computer classes (like in Photoshop/Illustrator) or if they have something in your area for model making, that be of some help.  It sounds like you're already working in the field which will put you ahead of future classmates that come in with zero building experience.  If you can, take a walk around and do some hand sketching of buildings you enjoy.