Archinect
anchor

Young Architect Seeks Advice

Concretejunky
I am a recent graduate and have not been working too long. I never really struggled in school, but am having difficulty in practice. The main reason I have so much anxiety over work lately is because I feel I am very slow at drafting, particularly when it comes to working on rehab drawings. There has been a handful of people who have pointed out that I need to be faster. I'm not sure what to do here but this is what is causing me the greatest anxiety. I want to do a good job and help my team, and want to be able to leave someday knowing I'll have good references. I especially get anxious thinking about projects with very tight deadlines and my slowness causing them to go over-budget I've honestly thought about working late on a project without billing it in order to make up for my slowness, but am not sure that is a good idea. I'd really appreciate any advice!

Sep 19, 17 2:59 pm
JLC-1

what is the source of your slowness? do you know exactly what to draw all the time? maybe you just need better directions. and maybe you get distracted a lot.

Sep 19, 17 3:40 pm  · 
 · 
Concretejunky