Archinect
anchor

Graphic struggle

luminol

I was laid off from my first job because I am not suited for fast-image production. At the end of the term, the principal said my portfolio is addressing eye-candy competition style but it seems more likely I am apt to project development or construction phase. Oh really? 

I thought I was a type of visual artist when I was in school. But at work, I was having a hard time because co-workers principal and me all had different graphic style. So I think what made me procrastinated is matter of coordination not because I am not good at grahic. However, dealing with people's different visual preferance drives me so nervous and it seems there is no 'logical' answer, not like the world of Autocad. 

Sep 5, 17 4:00 pm
Non Sequitur

Renderings and photoshop people are a dime a dozen... and super replaceable either by Indian farms or fresh grads. It's also an easy craft to learn well and unless you can do it quickly under pressure, you won't last long since all you're paid to do is model the project architect's ideas... not your own.

Sep 5, 17 4:19 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

"laid off from my first job because I am not suited for fast-image"....

so two things:

A) will they be calling you back? because you said laid off, sounds more like let go.

B) yhea, welcome to real world were time is actually money, problem w/ fresh grads:

-in school you have all day to fool around, surf the internet, snap chat your buddies etc... because there is no "real" budget, in practice time is money, they are probably billing you out at $60-$75 an hour

-practice speed & academic speed is two diff things which seems like you are learning

- learn the tricks of the trade, and never stop learning

best of luck to you,

Sep 5, 17 4:46 pm  · 
 · 
luminol

@ Curtis what do you mean 'a favor'? They were nice people so I don't want blame them. I am trying to minimize this problem for the next step.