Archinect
anchor

Professional orientation needed

yeinieryi

Hello friends,

About three years ago I came to US hoping to continue my career as an architect but I've been struggling even to get a job for an architectural firm. I got my first work with an engineering company specialized solar design (photovoltaic design) and I’ve been working on the same place for more than 2 years but now I that I’m trying to return to my original background it’s been really hard to get just a few interviews. I’m aware that I don’t have any experience here in the country so for that reason I’ve been trying to find an architectural drafter position, but for some reason it looks like that role it’s been assigned to the interns. So I’m totally lost on what position should I have to be applying. On one hand I don’t have experience at all of how the things are done in here, but in the other whenever they see my resume it looks like I’m over overqualified. I have more than 10 years working with AutoCAD and around 6 to 7 working with other software like Revit, Sketchup, 3d max, Photoshop among others. I have a 6 years degree from my original country (Cuba) two years of internship, two years supervising construction site and 4 working as a senior architect. So, what am I missing? So far the only certification I’m currently pursuing is the NCARD but for that need to get a job with a registered architect. This has been really frustrating for me so please if you have any advice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Jul 6, 17 12:56 pm
Non Sequitur

Start at the bottom with the interns.  If you actually know your shit and have translatable construction experience then it won't take long to pass the other entry level staff.

Jul 6, 17 2:08 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

If you have to, seek out an internship position for 6 months to a year.  Then work your butt off, go above and beyond and make the boss realize you're an asset that they'll offer you a full-time job.

Jul 6, 17 2:25 pm  · 
 · 
yeinieryi