Archinect
anchor

Student Intern Architect pay hours

eastcoast

I am a student intern at a firm. I go in at 8:00 and work until 5:00 with an hour lunch break. I know the firm only puts time down for the hours they are working on a project, based on the the time that is allotted for that project, but i am working for the 8 hours I am there on whatever needs to be done, (redlining mainly). I was told by the guy that hired me to list all my time under administration rather than an individual project, but recently had the other architect in the office tell me to list each thing for the project i am working on. I obviously take longer to do things so i don't want to list like 8 hours for a project and mess up the hours for that project but at the same time am I really only supposed to be putting a few hours each day? I not getting paid a whole lot so am I supposed to get payed the whole 40 hours that I am in the office working each week or less than that? Im not sure what they expect me to put down as my hour pay.  

Jun 19, 17 9:21 am
Non Sequitur

Ask your boss.

Jun 19, 17 10:35 am  · 
 · 
Driko

if you are at the office you should get paid. You have to value your time and if you dont they definitely wont. This is the problem in architecture, you are always expected to work for free. I sit at my job and on some days i do no work at all. If they dont pay me ill just walk out, i dont need to be here. Im not particularly skilled i just know that the hiring process is a long and difficult one and im willing to call their bluff. Also i have more leverage than they do.

At my last job i help a project up until i got paid in full. I didnt care if my boss didnt get paid by the client yet. I didnt care that the schedule was pushed back because my bills didnt get pushed back.

If they cant pay you then they shouldnt have you there working. Dont take their bull shit. 

Jun 19, 17 11:07 am  · 
 · 
jungle