Archinect
anchor

Canada - Revit or Archicad

Wisdomseeker

Hi all, I know this topic is a bit overdone and it is ultimately my preference, however, please help.  I will be opening a new firm next year and not sure which BIM software is best.  It will be just me and wife in the beginning.  I have a lot of experience with Revit, but no Archicad.  I love working on Apple products mainly because of the workflow, but unfortunately, Revit is not native to Mac. By the way, are there a lot of firms in Canada that uses Apple? and what do they use? We do not fear to learn a new program. I have been hearing great things about Archicad. I imagine that we will be exporting dwgs files to the engineers, so either BIM software would work.

Jun 13, 17 7:00 pm
Non Sequitur
Revit. I've only ever heard of one Canadian firm using MACs and I have literally never heard anyone mention archicad.

Don't go the MAC route. High cost where the only benefit is the shiny Sex appeal factor.
Jun 13, 17 7:56 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Revit is going to be easier to coordinate with your consultants, though archicad is definitely used by a few firms local to me.

On that note, several local firms (I'm in Canada) do use Mac, most often with vectorworks. I work in a 22-person firm where at least 4 people work on Mac's, the rest on PC. It's never been anything but close to seamless for us. We also use a combination of iPads and various phones for site reports.

Jun 13, 17 9:13 pm  · 
 · 
ArchiFair

Go to ArchiCAD, because it's the better BIM solution for Architects and Designers
The choice is simple: If you want your full BIM software to help you in your design and presentation, go for ArchiCAD. If you go with Revit, you will need to add Sketchup Pro to do your schematics.

Vectorworks is a solid solution, but doesn't have the BIM capabilities of ArchiCAD.

Aug 1, 18 4:52 pm  · 
 · 
randomised