Archinect
anchor

Working in Europe while only speaking English - can it be done?

stu92

Hi all,

I'm an English-speaking architectural graduate. I graduated in the UK a year ago, have been working in the US since and have about 18-24 months of work experience in the UK on top of that (mix of part-time and full-time work). I'll be leaving here in the next few months due to expiring visas and so am looking for the next adventure.

I think that, before seriously getting stuck into my professional, I'd like to try living abroad again for another year or two. My preference would be somewhere in Europe like the Netherlands, Scandinavia or Germany but the potential language barriers are slightly off-putting.

I've been reassured by others that have lived and studied abroad with little to no knowledge of the first language there that I wouldn't have any problems adapting. I even had someone tell me that, from their time living in Sweden, that the natives actually preferred speaking English? How true this is I don't know, but I'm sure there must be a bit of a difference between speaking in broken Swedish to order a coffee and then using broken Swedish to co-ordinate a set of construction documents with various consultants.

Has anyone else on here ever spent time working somewhere where English wasn't the primary language? If so, how was the experience? Pros/cons? Very eager to hear!

May 30, 17 9:01 pm

It will likely depend on the company, perhaps more than the country. As you're sending out resumes, consider:

-Does the firm take on international projects, or mostly work close to home?
-Does the company have only one office, or multiple locations abroad?
-Are the firm's main clients the same nationality as its leaders?
-Is the company's website available in multiple languages? What about their job postings?