Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Review

Seetharamv

Hi, I am a final year undergraduate student studying at School of the Art Institute of Chicago and I am looking to apply for internships at offices in Europe, America and India. Can you please give me feedback on my portfolio. 

Portfolio (longer version) : https://indd.adobe.com/view/b1ae69d9-9106-4f4e-bfca-8ecfb2b6def2

Thank you for your time!

Jan 28, 17 12:33 pm
BulgarBlogger

horrible portfolio. you'll never get a job with this. sorry- that's the truth.

Jan 28, 17 1:47 pm  · 
 · 

While I'm not going to be as harsh as Bulgar, this portfolio currently doesn't reflect well on you. Here are the reasons why:

1) You have multiple styles throughout the portfolio. This shows a lack of editing and distilling down to core values. This also shows in the work as well.

2) You have way too much text. You need to grab someone in 30 seconds to a minute. You aren't doing that. You need to highlight essential portions of your projects and get rid of the rest.

3) This said, your text is way more successful in talking about your projects than your graphics. You need to reverse this. Like others I've known that have come from SAIC, your conceptual skills are your strong point. But I don't see response to context. I don't see application of building technologies or an understanding of how a building starts to come together. Yes, this comes more with age and practice, but you need to start your path to understanding how architecture works in school. 

4) Don't put essays into your portfolio. They will never be read.

As of right now your portfolio is working against you. I wish you would have come to the AIAS portfolio roundtable back in December. There were several Chicago professionals you could have received feedback from. Feel free to reach out if you want to do so.

P.S. The toned-down graphics on your website are more successful than the portfolio. I'd suggest using cues from your website.

Jan 28, 17 2:59 pm  · 
 ·