Archinect
anchor

What about japanese /chinese/ korean architecture ?

Zeydess

Im a novice in architecture and I would like to improve my knowledge about asian fundamentals constructions, im just fascinated by these japanese or chinese temple that are still standing.. Have you any references or even documentaries about buildings in this part of the world ? Thanks

Nov 23, 16 8:05 pm
SneakyPete

You're taking about three different cultures. There is shared history, but any one will be a rabbit hole of learning. 

Nov 23, 16 8:09 pm  · 
 · 

heinrich engels book called the japanese house is a good one if you are into the wooden thing. Nobody lives that way (or builds that way) anymore unless rather old or in remote location. In Japan at least even most timber construction is undertaken in automated factories. The fundamentals are similar, but more earthquake resistant.

Other traditional Asian architecture is different as far as I know so you will need to look for similar books for each country. Best thing is just to visit asia and see for yourself. Can almost guarantee that context will radically change whatever you imagine Asian architecture is all about.

Nov 23, 16 8:34 pm  · 
 · 
Zeydess

Yeah I know we're talking about different culture but as an exterior view they look to have similar spirit. Thanks for the reference ! Ahh i would love to see all that directly by my eyes it would be better of course ! But just imagine im trying to plane a travel in this region, what buildings would you say I must see above others in each country?

Nov 24, 16 4:28 am  · 
 ·