Archinect
anchor

Should I pretend to know more than I do at work?

nahsil

I am a junior architect with 2 years of experience. As a young professional, there are many work-related things I do not know. Is it better to ask questions whenever I have them? Or just pretend I know things? I always do my research before asking questions, but there are still many things I do not know or do not understand..... Would it picture me stupid by asking questions? I know some senior levels who assumes those things are "common sense"...which makes no sense....

Oct 10, 16 11:43 am
zonker

always ask questions -" fake until you make it" doesn't work in this profession - you will get fired -

Oct 10, 16 11:45 am  · 
 · 

Always ask. It paints you as taking the initiative, not stupid.

Unless you're not asking the right questions, but I'm guessing that isn't the case with a couple years experience.

Oct 10, 16 12:01 pm  · 
 · 

I went the old apprenticeship / work experience equivalency route. As Xenakis stated above, "fake it til you make it" will catch up to you. Ask questions, you'll find that experienced co-workers have no issues sharing information. Just remember as years progress, do the same for the youngsters you are leading. There is simply way too much information to possibly know in one lifetime. How many senior staff do you see going around asking questions? All of them. Learning never ends.

Oct 10, 16 12:06 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy

Definitely ask question, but there is an art to it. Try to consolidate your questions into a list and ask them all at once, instead of bugging your manager every time something comes up. Whenever possible, have a proposed solution, even if you think that your solution is probably wrong.

Oct 10, 16 12:13 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

^ Agreed! Great answer

Oct 10, 16 12:46 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Always ask questions. I pretend I know less than i (think) I do, just so I can get other people's thoughts and ideas.