Archinect
anchor

Where should one move for architecture?

O designers of the habitable environment! 

Based on the numbers, it sounds like now is a good time to be an architect: Billings are up and many of my friends on the coasts say their offices are hiring. But we all know that the architecture industry is up and down, and the deeper crises radically changing the profession aren't going away. 

Which cities which are best for architects? What is the best city for an architect to "put down roots?" When the next recession hits, is it better to be in a small city or a big one? Where is the cost of living lower than average but licenced architecure salaries higher? Where are the jobs? Separately, it's easy to pull information about one factor or another, but I need synthetic thoughts to put all these together.

I am getting married. I would like to start a family, pay off student loans. I have a master's degree and seven years of professional experience in (perhaps too many) architecture firms from the US to Mexico to Germany. I speak Spanish, German, and Revit, but I don't know how to make the first two work for me. Once back in the US, I hope to be licensed fairly quickly. 

Why do you work in the city in which you work? If you could do it over, start fresh, where would you go?

May 19, 16 6:26 pm
no_form

I hear Astoria Oregon has an emerging market in residential and performance buildings.  Only one competitor in town and low cost of living.  

(i'll show myself to the door now)

May 19, 16 7:33 pm  · 
 · 
Dangermouse

where should you move for architecture?  i'd probably put seattle, LA, the bay area, and NYC as top locations for work.   do you want to raise a family in these places?  you aren't going to find cheap living...

May 19, 16 7:46 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

If you want to be a part of a real building boom try Southeast Asia. Singapore(where I currently work), Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh, Manila, Jakarta. 

May 19, 16 7:53 pm  · 
 ·