Archinect
anchor

Zaha Hadid - Her Legacy

Kidd

With the news of Dame Zaha Hadid's passing, I thought it would be a good exercise to remember her for her works and legacy she left behind. As a student, I am open to all forms of architecture and when I stumbled upon her work, I loved it. The curving shapes and in-your-face forms she designed had me thinking "This is the future of architecture. This is where we should be headed." I'm more of a modernist, simplicity is better kind of person myself. But there is no denying the impact she had. 

My favorite building of hers is the Heydar Aliyev Center in Baku, Azerbaijan. The way the building meets the ground plane is inspirational and something to be emulated. If I can remember her first building that had me inspired, I'll post.

What is your favorite building or work that Hadid has done? And please, keep this civil. If you dislike her work, then give a reason why.

Mar 31, 16 7:56 pm

Malevich's Tektonik and The Sleuk Rith Institute.

Mar 31, 16 8:49 pm  · 
 · 

As somebody who had usually been skeptical of so-called "starchitects" (I hate that word now), I don't think I really appreciated Zaha until recently, and the news of her death this morning came much harder to me than I might have expected.

For the next few days anyway, I live just a few blocks from her Contemporary Art Center here in Cincinnati, and I need to make a point to visit it once more before I move to Seattle next month.

I absolutely love the seductive forms of many of her projects... I've seen that photo of the Heydar Aliyev Center posted a number of times today in the various stories about Zaha's passing, and I can't take my eyes off it. Something about that elevation just seems perfect in every way.