Archinect
anchor

Do I make too much for other employers?

StarchitectAlpha

I have 5 years experience and have a job captain role making 72k a year. I can't stand my job anymore though, it's the typical arrive at 8am and get belittled and cussed at for the next 9-10hrs for my lack of crystal ball reading skills, the works boring and I've hit a ceiling at advanced drafter CD set creator due to my bosses' inability to trust any project information with anyone. No matter what I do or how I do it, it's wrong and stupid to my boss and I'm just over it. How far of a drop in salary should I expect going to either another job captain role in hopefully a design build firm or a project engineer role in a CA firm. I just had an offer and they want to know salary expectations, I feel like they will laugh at me if I say 72k. The breakdown is 56k base 8k quaterly bonuses and the rest is overtime, I work in San Diego. 

Mar 15, 16 12:51 pm
archiwutm8

I thought you were gonna quit the whole architecture game?

Mar 15, 16 12:53 pm  · 
 · 
StarchitectAlpha

Slowly migrating over to CA so design build as the most architecture like job. 

Mar 15, 16 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

Every job is dysfunctional, you just have to find an employer where their brand of dysfunction doesn't drive you up the fucking wall.  Money is a good incentive to stay.  If you go somewhere else you might get the same pay, less or more either way it is going to be fucked up in some way and you never know till you are there.

Mar 15, 16 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

I rather start high, have them give you a counter offer, than start low and end low. That does seem like a pretty good salary only five years out though.

Mar 15, 16 1:09 pm  · 
 · 
I don't think so - I've been getting emails from recruiters lately for jobs in the 70-80k range. Same boat as you though - that's more than my base but with profit sharing, bonus, and overtime I'm in that range anyway.
Mar 15, 16 1:35 pm  · 
 · 
StarchitectAlpha