Archinect
anchor

Take a breath

go do it

I have been noticing a lot of threads about dissatisfaction with either school or just the  architectural trade as a whole and I have a couple of thoughts. Now granted I am not an architect but a general contractor with the advantage of not being stuck in front of a computer all day but in the field putting things together which I think prevents cabin fever and stagnation. Not being an architect I do not have to be shackled with having to remember and design for the abundance of codes and regulations. Of course I need to fulfill my obligation to the construction process and in the end I am the last one to ensure that the project is done correctly but I think that it is easier to follow the drawings and make sure they are correct than to put all the information down to start with. What I am saying is that I appreciate and sympathise with all the headaches that the design process puts you guys through while at the same time I hope you all appreciate my headaches of turning all those lines into a building. So we all do our part.

After 30 years in the trade and 25 being in business I still like the romance of building and sometimes designing. Taking a load of lumber and with my hands and knowledge and making it look like the picture that you guys give me is still a cool thing.

For all of you that are frustrated just remember we are creating things and not everybody gets to do that for a living. If you are a cad monkey and feel stuck no one is stopping you from drawing something up and pitching the idea to someone just keep moving forward. And I have no idea how office politics work the only thong (typo left in on purpose) I know is that being an employer I always appreciate constructive contributions and initiative. Initiative is the most important attribute.