Archinect
anchor

Austrian Architecture Degrees

Clarke

I'm looking into starting architecture for 2012, and am wondering if anyone can give some recommendations for Austrian (or German) universities that offer it. I have somewhat looked into the following, and am having a hard time figuring out which are generally drafting and engineering side of architecture and which are more artistic and creatively oriented. 

TU Wien

TU Graz

Die Angewandte (also in Vienna)

Also, if there are some that accept Masters students from entirely different fields then that would be preferable, but it's probably asking too much. I have a German Literature degree with art history that is probably going to hang useless on my wall as of right now. Has anyone gone to any of these, or heard anything positive/negative about them, or have any other input? I'm also looking into Dalhousie and U of T, but would rather stay in europe.

Jul 28, 11 11:18 am
Sebastian Pertl

As far as I know die Angewandte is predominantly English speaking.

Jul 28, 11 2:54 pm  · 
 · 
Clarke

That would be a plus, and I think TU Wien is as well... I don't mind if they're in german either though. I'm digging into more and Kunst Universität Linz seems to be one of the few other Austrian ones, so really ANY info on these is helpful

Jul 28, 11 3:42 pm  · 
 · 
farougi

as far as i know angewandte is very AA-wannabe. a quick walk through the arch building (or just the 3 floors) will give u a very good idea. TU Wien is pretty typical like the german schools. i think german schools are generally more conventional, less parametric design if thats what ur looking for (if yes then goto angewandte).

u have to take the entrance exam.. i think u missed the july date but theres another in sept. most applicants tend to already have studied architecture but exceptional talent is recognized!