Archinect
anchor

Peter Keating

4arch

does your office or school have a Peter Keating type? discuss...

Feb 14, 05 12:24 pm
lush

I cant think of anyone I studied with being very peter keating like, but that guy wuth the 'studying abroad' thead certainly seems like a good candidate!

Feb 14, 05 4:17 pm  · 
 · 
post-neorealcrapismist

that book is directly related to the building, then deflation, then rebuilding of my ego...damn you howard, damn you...

Feb 14, 05 4:52 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

my mother made me become an architect when all i wanted to do was SING!!!!

Feb 14, 05 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
natnatG

lush - come on whats wrong with you

Feb 14, 05 8:05 pm  · 
 · 
theWanderlister

This whole Howard Roark vs. Peter Keating thing is stupid.

You either are in it for Architecture or you're either in it for fame and glory. Or your architecture brings you fame and glory. Or youre just a whore that makes architecture for rich people, ahem Phillip Johnson. Everyone is different.

Feb 14, 05 9:14 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Thanks for clearing that up, James. No more posts necessary now...

Feb 14, 05 10:07 pm  · 
 · 
wyoming81

I am pretty sure that I fullfill that requirements of Peter Keating. Therefore my answer would have to be yes.

Feb 15, 05 1:22 am  · 
 · 
joek

Cue dumb question sorry? who is peter keating. I am a keating but not peter.

Feb 15, 05 7:22 pm  · 
 · 
too degrading

Elsworth Toohey... a god!

Feb 16, 05 11:32 pm  · 
 · 
too degrading

So many great profiles from the novel that people just won't stop yapping about:

Mike -
A tough, phenomenally ugly electrician who admires talent in any form. He instantly recognizes Roark’s ability and becomes a staple on the construction sites of the buildings Roark designs.

Feb 16, 05 11:37 pm  · 
 · 
Jr.

joek--I think you have to give your architecture degree back. Sorry.

Feb 17, 05 8:22 am  · 
 · 
VanWinkle