Archinect
anchor

Has anyone ever landed an architecture job on a working holiday visa?

thompson's gazelle

Hello all, I'm a late twenties male, currently working in my home country in Asia. I'm planning to relocate myself to the states in the near future, and knowing that getting a working visa in the US without already living there is almost impossible, I'm starting to think of working holiday visas as a possible detour to eventually get to the US.

For those who have been abroad on a working holiday visa, how easy is it to get a job at an architecture firm? I have about 2 years of professional experience, and received 10 years of education in the US. For gradschool, I have a masters from an internationally renowned institution (how much will this help outside the US?). I've been googling a lot, but working holiday stories I found were mostly about physical labor and traveling. So it made me think if it's even possible to get a job in my field of study with a working holiday visa.

I'm also curious about how European offices treat English-only speakers. I have very little problem with English, but speak no other language other than English and my first language. Thinking about UK, Canada, and Australia as most practical options, but Germany and Portugal are where I'm really interested in if the language barrier is not so high.

Any related feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Nov 25, 15 8:45 pm
3tk

I'm pretty sure employment regulations don't allow employers to hire on salaried staff on holiday visas... that being said it does happen illegally.  You get caught, you'll be deported and won't be able to re-enter for a period of time.

Nov 25, 15 11:28 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

It's illegal to work on a holiday visa if that's what you want to do.

Nov 26, 15 6:37 am  · 
 · 

What country are you from? This has an impact on your opportunities because different countries have different working holiday options.