Archinect
anchor

Is Vinyl Green Enough?

daneelliot

Wondering if anyone knows anything about using PVC for green building? Working on a project and was hoping for insight. The USGBC recently issued a pro-PVC report ( http://www.usgbc.org/LEED/tsac/pvcvinyl.asp ). Anyone have experience working with green plastics? Thanks.

Feb 7, 05 12:10 pm
Scott Valins

Check this out: ( http://www.envirotruth.org/pvc.cfm ) Looks like some enviro's don't agree with the report. But, I've been working with vinyl for 15 years as an urban landscape designer, and the USGBC is a trusted source.

Feb 7, 05 12:19 pm  · 
 · 
stephanie

i've heard that there is lots of going back and forth on not just vinyl, but lots of materials "green-ness"
the importance of selecting green building materials in our future buildings has left some manufacturers nervous about the future of their commonly used products. many companies will make some sort of argument for why their product is green, while there can be just as many arguments against it for whatever reason...

i guess i am saying it is a tough call in determining what is considered green and what is not. you'll find a lot of conflicting information, and ultimately just have to go with whatever you and your client find to be the most responsible solution.

sorry, i am not sure if that was very insightful

Feb 7, 05 12:36 pm  · 
 · 
fudu