Archinect
anchor

California Construction Industry

ciaobeetch

I am interested in possibly re-locating from the east coast to either LA/San Fran areas and am looking for tips from anyone out there. I am ultimately interested in commercial/mixed-use development, but at the time I am a project manager for a gc, and would like to find a similar position and continue from there. I realize most of you are on the design side of the industry, but thought that there may be other contractors/developers on these boards or architects who are in tune with the market. What is the job market like for commercial or residential builders? What is the overall market and what are the expected trends? Have you seen an increase or decrease in project flow? Etc...Thanks for all your time...

Feb 7, 05 11:02 am
R.A. Rudolph

We are a very small design/build operation, so I don't know if our experience is helpful, but... things are still going strong - permit approval in Los Angeles was up 25% I think from last year. Contractors seem to be looking for people (see for example the job offer from RAC Design/Build on the listing - they are friends of ours and were recently looking for someone).
I personally think the home remodel market (on the small end) will slow down because construction costs have gone up so much for a few years now (recent article in the LA Times indicated a 30% increase or so just in 2004) - but for larger projects I do not think the pace will slow anytime soon.
I would think if you have some experience and especially an architecture background you will not have trouble finding a job in Los Angeles. Not sure about the Bay Area - the market had slowed down a lot but it may be picking up. My architect friends up there seem to have no problem getting jobs.

Feb 7, 05 1:02 pm  · 
 · 
tlmII