Archinect
anchor

Considering a change in career. Help!

lalu

Hi archinecters,

I am a BArch student in a top 10 program, currently half way through. Recently I've been thinking, if you are not good at talking about your project, would you do poorly as an architect?

For the past few years, in combination of not getting enough sleep before reviews and also working a part time job, I struggle at times of what to say at reviews. I blank out alot, and I stumble with words. Is this a sign that architecture is not for me? However, the one review I did prepare my talk thoroughly, I did very well. Is it just my unpreparedness?

Other careers with potential interests are journalist, author, film maker/director, and real estate. 

Thanks!

Nov 13, 15 12:06 pm
senjohnblutarsky

If you plan to be the person who interacts with clients, you need to work on your presentation skills. 

There are plenty of architects who sit in an office and make buildings.  They seldom interact with clients and do just fine. There just has to be someone else around to do all the client interaction. 

Nov 13, 15 12:17 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

If you do well when you are prepared, then you have to find ways of preparing yourself quickly and sometimes spontaneously.  You'll get there.  There are a lot of reasons not to be an architect, but not being a natural bullshitter is not one of them.  You'll get over that part with experience.

Nov 13, 15 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

I would advise anybody in your position to jump ship.  This profession is a nightmare.  If you don't like it now, imagine how you are going to feel in 10 years of being a revit/CAD monkey.

That being said, public speaking is a skill that can be learned - unfortunately not enough schools teach or emphasize this.  Most likely any professional path you choose will have some level of presentation required - given - architecture school is excessive in the frequency of presentations.