Archinect
anchor

turning point

gonebananas

...i d'like 2 ask all architects in the forum... how does it sound?
i'm a 26 year old physician doing my internship in orthopaedical surgery earning about 3500 a month... have already worked 4 a year, feel like working as a doctor is a prison 4 my creativity, have always wanted 2 study architecture, drawn, read books, made trips, hanged out with arch students, have archs as friends and am planning to resign and start all over as an undergrad student in architecture... am ready 2 stand up 2 my decision also! my parents think i ve lost it, many of my friends also... i just kinda think 4 some reason, that arch is exactly what i was meant 2 do... working my butt out 2 get some project done, find int'restig people 2 team up with and.... take my chances ;-b

Jan 28, 05 5:26 pm
shanec

With only 2 total entries, this smells a lot like a member creating a new ID and trolling for attention. But I'll bite...

People will definately give you various versions of the old "follow your heart" bullshit. IF thats what you wanted to hear, by all means allow it to validate your forthcoming actions.

I've had friends who have done just what you are talking about and basically lost 6-7 years from the prime of their lives... with nothing to show for it but an "I had the courage to follow my heart" speech.

Unless you're loaded (and I mean loaded) with talent and skills (and I know you are not loaded with skills at this point), this is a recipe for disaster. Life is bigger than your profession, and having the financial and time resources to enjoy your life is something that you would more likely than not be giving up FOR A LONG WHILE (like, say, 15-25 years) should you go down this road.