Archinect
anchor

looking for intership

raven

I'm an architecture student in LA looking for intership that paids.

But All the firms in and around my area are packed or they are not hiring.I have posted my resume on Monter, Hotjobs and others job sites looking for a intership in architecture firm.So i'm asking my fellow architecture students what should i do! thank you

Jan 27, 05 4:20 pm
meversusyou

do an internship with a contractor or landscaper. try to learn what you draw actually means, its not just lines ya know.

Jan 27, 05 4:23 pm  · 
 · 
sanofiSYN

I wouldn't count on sources like Monster, Hotjobs, etc. Their are more than enough potential interns around that a firm won't have to turn to these sites. I'd say your best bet would be just to call or visit firms directly.

Jan 27, 05 4:35 pm  · 
 · 

find firms you like and just call. Ask to talk to their HR director (if you ask that, they'll give you whomever usually handles those duties) I once cold-called every firm within a ten-mile radius of my apartment, and eventually got hired from it. Don't expect a great response right away, but eventually somone will remember that one random student who called them out of the blue, and decide they like the fact that you had enough balls to just call up anyone who's listed as an architect.

Jan 27, 05 5:39 pm  · 
 · 

hit the pavement and go door to door. you immediately give them a face to match to the resume.

Jan 27, 05 5:40 pm  · 
 · 
o+

..try craigslist too, always internships listed there

http://losangeles.craigslist.org/egr/

good luck

Jan 27, 05 6:11 pm  · 
 · 
meversusyou

i sat down with the yellow pages too. just cold calling as sanofiSYN & USCErin stated above. there are so many more firms listed, apparently some think of the internet as a new-fangled-soon-to-be-defunct resource.

those damn wippersnappers...

Jan 27, 05 6:16 pm  · 
 · 

Also look through
http://www.architects-usa.com/