Archinect
anchor

Want to break away from being a rhino/competition slave

jackie jormp jomp

Hi all…

I must have read this article - "Don't be a Tool: Role of Software vs. Vision in Architectural Employment" 50 times by now and it makes me both sad and eager to change my situation, which is quite aptly described by the author.

I graduated in 2012 with one year of placement work experience, so in total i've been working for 4 years now. With the exception of my first job after college where I got to assist on drawing sets and the occasional site visit / construction admin, I’d say 70% of my work experience has been solely doing competitions, diagramming, rhino modeling and renderings. Going in my 2nd and current job, I had made it clear to my interviewers that I would like to be involved on the more “concrete” side of business (drawing sets, detailing, meeting w/ consultants), which they acknowledged. Fast forward to 1.5 years later, I have essentially done nothing but competitions and renderings. And since I work for a multi-national firm in China, even the occasional “real & built” project is passed on to local design institutes for construction drawings & admin. I feel that I have learnt nothing but new modeling/rendering methods. I got an excellent review for working ridiculously long hard hours and creating all these presentation packages…so when this year’s annual review came around I felt that I had earned the chance in asking for a more diverse set of responsibilities. At this point I would be so happy to detail bathrooms. My superiors responded that I would definitely be included in the design development process should we win any competitions, and that was that. They seem uninterested in helping me acquire a more well-rounded work experience at all, and to be honest, it does work to their advantage to keep me around in the competition stable because I can churn out graphics and renderings like no other (it’s not because I’m some sort of visualization wiz