Archinect
anchor

I can "put things together"

greengoblin

Okay, so through out my brief career and on this board, we always hear architects say " I am a good architect because I know how to put things together" and "Other architects suck because they don't know how to put things together"

I admit it. I do not know how to put things together. In fact, I don't even know what "put things together" really means. I was wondering if anyone feels the same way and if anyone can tell me how I can learn to put things together, especially when I can barely surivive in front of my CAD machine?

Jan 20, 05 9:37 pm
exquisite corpse

It means, you can spend all your time diagramming the programmatic distribution of breath across the modes of interstitial space, but do you know how the wall is going to meet the floor?

Jan 20, 05 10:09 pm  · 
 · 
Museschild

the basics, if you haven't looked at them lately--Ching's Building Construction Illustrated. Good to thumb through to put together the missing links when there's random CAD details floating in your brain.

Jan 21, 05 12:20 am  · 
 · 
Per Corell

Hi

Sorry I can't refuse to add in ---- now if you modeled the thing on a screen in 3D, then why not "press a button" and have the intire framework automatic generated, then you don't even have to vorry to get things together. 3D-H I mean.

Jan 21, 05 7:12 am  · 
 · 
hutch

here we go again....

Jan 21, 05 7:59 am  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

you gotta give him credit though, 321 posts and all about the same thing. you wonder if he hates living with himself. singularly focused he is....

but, corpse is right.

Jan 21, 05 8:11 am  · 
 · 
Ms Beary