Archinect
anchor

Job opportunities for foreign architects in the USA

hello, I am an India based architect  ( B.arch, Mumbai university)  with 4+ years of relevant experience in some good firms in India.

I am, looking forward to shift to the USA soon along with my husband, who would pursue Masters in Science, IT, from Worcester Polytechnic MA.

Actually I am really skeptical, that a Bachelors's degree is of any use to get any architectural job in the USA but, still want to know, are  there  any suitable job opportunities for me and what skills or softwares do I need to learn in order to enable to apply for jobs there, considering the vast difference in the working style of the two countries.

Jun 5, 15 11:09 am
JLC-1

Hi, I'm a foreign architect working in the US for 13 years, only with a BA equivalent (although I did a 6 year undergrad, which is BA+MA in the US) and I don't think the difference is in the working style as much as the building process, I would suggest learning building methods in the US, building types and use of materials, that's the biggest difference; software is very much universal these days, revit, autocad, sketchup, rhino, archicad, etc. most firms are migrating rapidly to revit now. the job market will depend a lot on the place and type of projects, this website is a great source for it.

good luck

Jun 5, 15 11:26 am  · 
 · 

Thank you so much for your valuable comment JLC-1 !!

Jun 6, 15 8:13 am  · 
 · 
alexanderbermudez

Hello Everyone.  I just have got graduated from Uni in Colombia as Architect and I would like to get any vacancie at any company,. I would like to learn a lot , doesn't matter if I will get pay or not

Aug 10, 16 12:39 am  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Walk into any starchitect office in the US, they will make you work 18 hours a day so you can "learn a lot"

Aug 18, 17 6:05 pm  · 
2  · 
ethankunz