Archinect
anchor

Supermarket Spectacular

missy

i am a MA student in London, currently in my first year of the programme.

We are doing one project for the whole year and this is to be defined by our own research. i have already selected a site and now I am trying to define the programme/building.

The site is in East London and is a retail park and supermarket. i began my research looking into the car park and supermarket strategies and development. I am now trying to make sense of this research and form some kind of brief.

At first I wanted to redesign the supermarket but this building type is so robust that i think the project would simply become a decorated box/shed. I think nthe key is to rethink the way in which we shop or will shop. For example perhaps i should be designing a drive-in movie theatre and simply a storage unit where you collect your shopping? i am looking for ideas about where people think shopping is going ways to shop!

any thoughts any follow shopper/architect?

Jan 16, 05 1:01 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

you should look at lewis tsurimaki lewis [sp] at www.ltl.net alot of their work deals with these tactical issues...

Jan 16, 05 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]
www.ltlwork.net
Jan 16, 05 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
missy

i will thank you. I have just been looking into drive thru supermarkets thou the problem is that all of these solutions eliminate the shopping experience, which lets face it people either love or hate. However it is about interaction.

Jan 16, 05 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
Mason White
RFID

: the future of shopping + consumer tracking

Jan 16, 05 2:13 pm  · 
 · 
TED

you might look at this related thread the future of retail architecture

Jan 16, 05 2:15 pm  · 
 · 
missy

scary!

Jan 16, 05 2:17 pm  · 
 · 
Mason White

also .. very important to the development of compacting the supermarket: the CARTVEYOR or VERMAPORT

Jan 16, 05 2:17 pm  · 
 · 
missy

MASON, ahh this hasn't quite got to little old england but i love these!

Jan 16, 05 2:19 pm  ·