Archinect
anchor

For a student: AutoCAD or Architectural Desktop? 3D studio max or form Z?

archconnect

Thanks guys.
Just curious as to which programs are better suited for a student. It would be helpful if you could give reasons as to why.

May 27, 04 1:51 am
m

everyone is going to have their preference. I was raised on vectorworks and form-z from an embryo architect, so those are my weapons. I didn't learn autocad till about 6 months ago because I never had a interest in being a cad-monkey, it sucks to death - but is a good skill to have. just play dumb in the office. my advice, learn them all. they all have their advantages and dis-advantages. just different pencils in the toolbox.

May 27, 04 3:27 am  · 
 · 
archconnect

Thanks for the advice M,

Because I am a student, I do not think I have the luxury to "learn them all."

My AutoCAD skills are adequate and since I already have a pirated copy of the latest 3DS, I am leaning towards it out of sheer convenience.

Unless I can be persuaded otherwise...

PS: Since AutoCAD and Architectural desktop are similar, which one would u guys recommend? I have both installed on my comp.

May 27, 04 4:23 am  · 
 · 
mark

m. is right.

personally, i'd say autocad over architectural desktop - i never found that the extra features in desktop made any difference.

vectorworks is also a quality piece of software. after ten years on autocad pcs i switched to mac a couple of months ago, and vectorworks has a lot going for it.

i've never used form-z, just max, so i can't comment on that.

May 27, 04 4:27 am  · 
 · 
m