Archinect
anchor

Mediocre White Bros - help

zzzzzzzzzzz

I'm a young female designer and am finding myself miserable in an office dominated by mediocre white bros who subject me to every imaginable insult to my intelligence and professional capabilities on the daily. When I look into my options for finding a job elsewhere, I find to my dismay that every other office in the area is also run by..... mediocre white bros. What to do?

May 3, 15 11:17 pm
toasteroven

start your own office run by mediocre white ladies?

this profession is tough for non-white males - you might need to shift markets.  some cities/regions are better than others.  btw - and don't think working for a woman-run office is going to be any better either - you'll be happier in an office that has a more supportive culture - regardless of who it's run by.  you're lucky that you're still young and have a chance to move around a little - especially since things aren't too terrible right now.

May 3, 15 11:46 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

but do they play hacky sack?

May 4, 15 6:18 am  · 
 · 
archinet

...try another office, I firmly believe that if you are not in an environment that is using you to your full potential then you should leave asap. Move around until you find the right place. 

In my experience I noticed the more mediocre the work coming out of the office- there are more mediocre white dudes running it....

May 4, 15 6:52 am  · 
 · 

OK, first things first. Scenario A: if you're being subject to gender discrimination or sexual inappropriateness at work, that is unacceptable and you need to find a new job. Document every single instance and get legal representation.