Archinect
anchor

Architectural History Internship

Lissie9824

Hi! I'm applying for an internship at an architectural history company with little no to experience (I'm a college student). They've asked if I've had any experience within the field and also want to know what I'm interested in doing as an intern. Does anyone who has an expertise in the area know what they are looking for/what I could expect as an intern? Let me know thanks! 

Mar 27, 15 1:42 pm
awaiting_deletion

what does an "architectural history company" do?

Mar 27, 15 8:39 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Probably historic preservation.

Mar 27, 15 10:03 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

recommendation to OP.  Be honest and ask them what they would like you to know before you start?

For instance if you were in NYC, you could look-up various Landmark Preservation Committee sponsored or published books, some technical, some historical, check them out at the library or buy a few copies and become familiar presumably with 'preservation' techniques from detailing to municipal laws...

Mar 28, 15 9:26 am  · 
 · 
archhopeful

My junior year of college I interned with a historic preservation non profit. When asked similar questions, I shared the few art history courses I had taken so far as well as my passion for architecture. I mostly just had to demonstrate that I could research and write before being hired as an intern (the art history courses I had taken had nothing to do with the era/style of architecture I would be working with). During that internship I condicted a research project to update the organizations records of all relevant buildings within the national historic register. This involved researching previous records of each building and visiting each structure to photograph and write up descriptions of the state of significant architectural elements. The research was used to create a publicly accessible database and for an exhibit the organization put together the next year.

Mar 28, 15 11:39 am  · 
 ·