Archinect
anchor

why A wall have different properties in various location?

yesyes

I am new to the CD. When I checked a drawing today, I found there is quite a difference for a wall in different location. One part of wall might be just 5" think made of Concrete. the other part may include 2" insulation. Why is that? Is there any rule to determine when I need to put more layers in a wall?

Dec 28, 04 12:21 am
Brim

Wall thickness depends what type of partition it is. Is it exterior or interior? Is it structural? Is it pre-cast or cast-in-place? Is it masonry or frame? Is it fire rated? Is it a plumbing wall? Is it sound attenuated? What sort of insulation / sheating / furring does it have? Is it metal studs or wood studs?

You really need to pay close attention to where the partition is happening in plan. You'll start to pick things up as you work in CD's more and more. As far as "layers" go - in our office we draw finished dimensions. For example if you have a 3-5/8" metal stud with 5/8" drywall on each side - we draw 4-7/8". If we have a 2x4 wood stud with 1/2" drywall ea. side - we draw 3-1/2" + 1" = 4-1/2". 8" masonry wall w/ 5/8" drywall, on 1-5/8" GMS channels, on 3/4" rigid = 8" (nominal) +3" furring.

Dec 28, 04 1:09 am  · 
 · 
yesyes

IN general, I guess the reason to use different materials in a wall Either in exterior or interior is that we want to:

1. provide structure support
2. prevent water penetration
3. prevent sound penetration

Brim: Thanks for telling me the general wall type used in your office. What does "furring" mean? I saw there is an extra material around the fire stair, is it for fire seperation?

Dec 28, 04 8:30 am  · 
 · 
Brim