Archinect
anchor

Stainless steel wall

test999

Here is a construction question for ya all . . .

I am doing some reno work in my kitchen and want to apply stainless steel sheeting to the wall (painted, latex) behind the stove and fridge. I need to know how I can fasten the sheet metal to the wall. Off the top of my head I am thinking an industrial grade adhesive should be fine. But, because I have limited experience with stainless steel I thought I would throw it out to the group. I do know though that I don't want an adhesive that come out a caulking tube. It does not apply evenly so I would prefer something I can roll on, brush on or spray.

Morgan

Dec 21, 04 4:30 pm
zacm

since steel expands and contracts significantly with even minor temp variation (which the condensor coil behind your fridge will provide), surface adhesives are not a viable option. ill think some more about what non visible options are available to you.

a quick question, when you say "want to apply stainless steel sheeting to the wall (painted, latex)" do you mean that you are going to paint stainless steel?

Dec 21, 04 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
test999

I wont be painting the stainless steel just to clarify. I want to keep the surface free from any fasteners so this might be a challenge. I have got some meetings with some high end kitchen installation contractors to find out how they do this.

Heat through the oven will be high too. Hmmm. . .

Dec 21, 04 5:32 pm  · 
 · 
zacm

essentially you can use continuous sheets and fold the top and bottom down 180 deg, then slide the sheet onto formed L's top and bott. this is going to require some pretty tight tolerances, and custom fabrication, but could do the trick. all you would see is the vertical seams. i would suggest bending the vert edge 90 deg. to provide some rigidity and so you see a nicer joint.

this may or may not make any sense. now we know how we all go through so much trace paper.

Dec 21, 04 5:42 pm  · 
 · 
J3

I agree w/zacm.