Archinect
anchor

But before I go...

iwish

I have heard several people talking about this lately. Is there any advantage to getting liscensed before going to grad school?

Dec 17, 04 11:50 am
graspin

huh? you can do this? oh, maybe if you had a professional undergrad degree, but then what would be the point? you'd have your licence and be out 'practicing'. why would you re-invest cash and time into more schooling...you'd want your practice to grow, or, you'd want better real life experience.

Dec 17, 04 12:00 pm  · 
 · 
momentum

if you didn't have a practice i think it may be worth it depending on what you are trying to get out of it. but if i ever get to go to grad school again, i want to be able to concentrate while i am there and get the most out of it i can possibly get.

has anyone on here ever done this?

Dec 17, 04 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
iwish

I have a 5-year degree. The reason I want to go to Grad school is to have an opportunity to spend time investigating a design problem, namely adaptive reuse. But I am not one to stand on theory. I have a strong motivation to relate ideas to reality. My thought is that with an expanded knowledge base about building, further academic study could be more directed at a real end product. Or perhaps it could be a hindrance, I'm not sure yet.

Dec 17, 04 12:37 pm  · 
 · 
momentum

i guess you would have more time in school to focus on a certain aspects depending on the program you choose, same thing for using your skills to direct toward a real end product. you just have to pick the right school.

i want to go back so i can teach in the future, and for some further exploration of concepts and ideas i have.

Dec 17, 04 2:07 pm  · 
 · 
ether

i've got a 5 year degree. i will start taking the ARE this summer. After i'm done, i plan on applying to grad school (hopefully for the fall of 2006).

Dec 17, 04 2:13 pm  · 
 · 
iwish

ether,