Archinect
anchor

industrial design or architecture

designrocks

Hello!

I am a freshman in architecture and so far I love my first year. We're learning about design, not really anything related to buildings yet. I am considering, however, switching over to industrial design. I had originally selected architecture b/c being in a top 3 school, it would be easier to switch from arch to another major rather than vice versa. In the future I see myself as a designer of everything- from buildings to products to furniture- in a firm like Starck. I am just wondering if anyone has advice on whether or not I should stick in the arch program or switch. For what reasons are you happy you choose architecture rather than industrial design and vice versa? Thank you so much for helping me with this decision.

Dec 15, 04 1:05 pm
mad+dash

you can do both...why not? that was my problem in college. you don't need a degree or major to tell you what you can or can't do.
you could work on one as a minor, or intern at a firm that does both...

Dec 15, 04 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
designrocks

Thanks for the reply! That would be the ideal solution. What did you major/minor in? I've already talked with my studio profs and they said It wasn't possible to double major, but I could take a few furniture design courses. We do have required co-op at our school. Do you know of any specific firms have successfully intertwined the two fields?

Dec 15, 04 1:44 pm  · 
 · 
taboho

off a tangent to this topic, does anyone know of design firms in the US (preferably east coast) that does a wide variety of work similar to Starck's? (ie, objects, graphics, architecture, etc.)

Dec 15, 04 1:45 pm  · 
 · 
TranseptR