Archinect
anchor

LEED office rip-off!!!!

graspin

Ok, so I'm a newbie at this architecture thing...well, 5 years experience. But I pose this one question to all of you poolies:

If your office needs a LEED accredited professional (to get a multi-million dollar job), and you're the only one in the office who has that designation, should they not 'PAY' for that service?

Dec 7, 04 7:52 am
b3tadine[sutures]

yeah, i think a sweet bonus is due...

Dec 7, 04 7:55 am  · 
 · 
freq_arch

if you look at it like a commodity, yes
if you consider it added value, yes
if you consider effort expended, yes

so I guess I'd say yes

did the firm pay for your time and examination to acquire it?
if so, this shouldn't dissuade you from seeking compensation, but it should inform the tone with which you assert yourself

good luck

Dec 7, 04 8:53 am  · 
 · 
alphanumericcha

Graspin, do you think you are paid well enough for your current responsibility?

I suggest if you are then ask for more responsibility on this project due to you unique position to help the firm. Prove yourself and expect to be compensated. Look into how you can help the firm market work because of your LEED certification and make some goals for yourself and achieve them.

Dec 7, 04 11:28 am  · 
 · 
iwish

You already work for them, with your LEED and all. They already pay you. Why the hell would they pay you more? If you will be doing all of the LEED work, and this is more responsibility than you have now, then a raise may be in order. But if they are simply using your name on the paper work, I'd say probably not.

Dec 7, 04 2:28 pm  · 
 · 
graspin