Archinect
anchor

UCLA, U Penn, Cornell, or Columbia?

heterarch

I know this sort of question gets posted all the time, but I didn't see one specifically questioning these four schools. Checked the link in "best schools", even spent the $20 to download the "book" at greenway comm about the best schools, etc.. note to others: it's worthless. less than 30 pages, not very insightful. wasted money. In any case, I'm looking at these 4 schools, I'm primarily interested in design as opposed to construction management/project management, and wanted your esteemed opinions based on personal knowledge.

Nov 30, 04 7:35 pm
swisscardlite

undergrad or grad? what are your stats?

Nov 30, 04 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
heterarch

graduate. i have a 5 yr pro degree from ball state, graduated cum laude. interned at starchitect nyc firm, semester abroad in thailand, 1420 gre, about 2 years 'real world' experience by the time i get to grad school next year.
hope that helps w/matchmaking.. but also in general, what first hand opinions/reviews does anyone have?

Nov 30, 04 8:27 pm  · 
 · 
monkeyboy

How is your letter of rec. status. Is this Starchitect you worked for willing to write you a recomendation..and does he/she have influence at any of those schools? Like you said, those lists are pretty worthless. Try searching through past conversations...this topic I am sure has been exhuastively discussed.

Nov 30, 04 10:34 pm  · 
 · 
zizi

gray, your being interested in 'design' over 'construction management' isn't enough to go on. All of these schools are interested in 'design'. They're architecture schools, not engineering schools. to make your decision, you should visit them (preferrably while school is in session). Talk to students. Look at a lot of student work. Ask yourself: is this the kind of work that I want to do?