Archinect
anchor

What Job to Pick

majpdx23

I have been working at a small firm now for the past 14 months. I love the work environment and most of my co-workers. Over the past year I have been exposed to more then my friends who work at larger firms. Working at a small firm, I get so much more hands on experience with projects, face time with clients and even get to design and manage my own projects (even if they are small TIs). Two months ago I got an increase in pay, not a lot but enough to make a difference and now make around $33K with a masters degree. This afternoon, one of my friends at a big shop in town told me they were hiring and had told someone in charge of hiring about me and my experience. They want me to come in for an interview. The job pays well, roughly $10,000 more if I get the same offer they extended to one of my other friends. This is my problem... Do I stick it out with the small firm that has given me experience? Or do I jump ship and head for higher pay? 

One of the things that is killing me is that we are already understaffed and have several projects on the horizon. If I leave, I dont know how they will fill my spot. Being a small firm, its not like they can steal someone from a large firm because they cant offer the same pay / benefits. I want to hear the larger firm out and see what they can offer. I know that talking with the new firm doesn't guarantee a job, but I'm not sure how to handle things with my current boss if I do get an offer.

I also know that there is greater risk changing firms because the larger firms in town tend to chop heads when jobs start to die off.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Any advise would be very helpful.

Aug 21, 14 5:40 pm
archanonymous

Are you in middle america, on the coasts, or in Europe or Canada? $33k is not alot, and for me it would be a no-brainer. When you sense the big firm losing work or scaling back, line up another job and be prepared for if/ when they do layoffs.