Archinect
anchor

Purchasing Desktop for Pratt March

LandMass

I'm going to start the MArch program at Pratt in fall and was thinking about purchasing a desktop instead of another laptop as the school suggests ( i mean makes mandatory).

Are there any other Pratt students that use a desktop for their work? As an undergrad I found a lot of students locked their desktops to the studio desks. I was curious if this is possible at Pratt.

Thanks.

Apr 10, 11 2:13 pm
Arfaei

@LandMass-I have the same question you have.I am going to start M.arch this fall too. they said purchasing the laptop is mandatory but I really think such laptops that can handle our needs will be so heavy and it is not practical to move them back to where you live.
btw: Do you plan to live on campus or not?I am trying to decide whether I should rent a studio near pratt or live in the grad dorms(willoughby and grand ave)
I appreciate any advice.

Apr 10, 11 3:29 pm  · 
 · 
Token AE

You are going to want mobility.

What about laptops don't you like? If it is the small keyboard/ monitor, you may be better off just getting a laptop with a video output and picking up an extra monitor, keyboard, and mouse if you find it makes your production work more efficient.

Apr 10, 11 5:22 pm  · 
 · 
Arfaei

@hagaandaz- they say the laptop is mandatory that is why we are asking.A desktop is absolutely better faster and costs less, and a 17inch laptop is hardly movable.

Apr 10, 11 5:44 pm  · 
 · 
Token AE

Who renders on a laptop?

If Pratt doesn't have a render farm or desktops to use in a lab that you can lock for rendering, then you should build (do not buy) yourself a barebones desktop built for speed and rendering. But I would still get a laptop for day to day use.

I suppose I am spoiled in that I always had both a MBP and a desktop PC, for this very reason. I used my laptop for day-to-day work (85-90% of the semester duration) and desktop for production renderings.