Archinect
anchor

Interventions...new styles meeting old traditions in NYC

pcoy

Taking a course entitled, Old Buildings, New Forms and am trying to find some unique / peculiar examples of architectural reuse projects in and around New York City. Thus far, we have taken a look at architectural interventions at the MET, the Morgan Library, Pratt, PS1, etc… basically, projects that began with existing structures and either grew in, or out, from there.

SO, two questions… First, does anyone know of any less well-known intervention projects in and around NYC that would be worth checking out?? And (for the sake of discussion) how does the general architectural community feel about adaptive reuse projects? For a while now (I’m still a student, so my perspective may be skewed) I have felt like there is somewhat of a divide between architects who practice historic preservation and/or adaptive reuse and those who focus primarily on new construction, particularly within the United States. If architects had the choice (assuming economics provided such opportunities…maybe someday), would one rather build new or use what we already have? I suppose most of this is contextual, but I’m really curious to know what, in general, people feel about historic architecture in contemporary environments.

Apr 8, 11 10:23 am
Medusa

Pretty much all of Manhattan is an exercise in adaptive reuse since buildings are constantly being chopped up, renovated and reinhabited. You should spend a day exploring old NY (South St. Seaport, Wall St, Stone St, etc). Also read "Delirious New York."

Apr 9, 11 12:40 pm  · 
 · 
olaf design ninja

Have worked on jobs where facade was landmarked and essentially everything including structure was replaced, that is NYC in a nutshell. Often the old is way over zoning so you don't want to loose the square footage so you rebuild everything without making it a new construction project.