Archinect
anchor

value engineering???

go do it

VALUE ENGINEERING

i hate this term. what is it saying anyway? are we engineering the value? seems like a high brow attempt to spin the words "make it cheaper".

a veiled attempt to impress someone with words. ha maybe an architect coined the phrase ha!!

as a general contractor i run into this a lot, as i know you architects do also. what it actually means in real life is "cut cost but match design"
there has to be a better way
any suggestions?

Mar 29, 11 10:13 am
207moak

an architect would have called it a fiscal assessment intervention

Mar 29, 11 12:24 pm  · 
1  · 
steadyeddy

The term is used loosely all the time but what is usually happening is "scope of work reduction". I sometimes call it "Cost-cutting measures".

Mar 29, 11 12:54 pm  · 
 · 
urbanity

AIA's terminology is Value Analysis...and yes it is a cost savings exercise.

If the actual construction costs exceed the architects estimate of construction costs, the project team participates in the Value Analysis process. In reducing costs you will either have to reduce the size of the project, reduce the quality of the project or both.

It's very difficult to accurately predict construction costs, market conditions or the way that the project is bid. Even when we have worked closely with a detailed cost estimator or a contractor during the design process, the actual contruction costs have ended up varying widely from the estimates.

Mar 29, 11 12:57 pm  · 
1  · 
jcr