Archinect
anchor

any work in Chicago these days?

zeromyhero

I am looking at having to relocate to Chicago. I know things were rough, and I suspect they still are, but I am hoping I can find a job there. I am licensed, AIA, ASLA, LEED AP, the whole enchilada, and I have lots of experience. Trouble is I was laid off in 2009 and have only been able to work part time since then. I would greatly appreciate any comments from those on the ground. How is it?

Mar 14, 11 5:21 pm
blah

There's stuff going on here but the job situation is really tricky. Having a personal connection is still the best way to obtain employment.

Mar 14, 11 6:26 pm  · 
 · 
Digital_Sandbox

Theres a trickle of jobs, which is definitely an improvement over last year about this time, but overall the situation is still pretty miserable for the majority of folks. BTW, 84 viewings, and two responses. Nice guys, nice.

Mar 14, 11 10:34 pm  · 
 · 
creativity expert

This past month i had a couple of interviews, for jobs at architecture offices, and 2 for jobs outside of architecture, I just need to find a job so i can take my freaking are exams and open some kind of a shop of my own even if it means working in a factory for now, but yes listen to make it is all about connections seems like they don't care how experience you are these days.

Mar 15, 11 12:20 am  · 
 · 
beekay31