Archinect
anchor

How can I get a right job?

windows98wh

I am a Chinese entry-level architect in Shanghai and look forward working in an international architectural firm.I have failed in some interviews because of my poor speaking English.Now I really need to work.But I think it is not right for me to work in Chinese environment again. So how can I get a right job now?

Dec 8, 10 6:19 am
med.

If you are trying to work in the US, your language ability is not the stubmling block, it's the fact that most American firms are reluctant right now to hire people who would need to be sponsored with an H1B Visa.

Dec 8, 10 11:56 am  · 
 · 
quizzical

med is correct about the current reluctance of most firms to embrace the complexities of working with an H1B candidate when there are so many qualified candidates available domestically. However, your language skills also present a hurdle that most firms are likely to weigh. Architecture is, after all, a team sport.

When hiring, any firm is going to rank order any pool of candidates according to the relative strengths and weaknesses they offer. It is only human nature to hire those with the most strengths and the fewest weaknesses.

Overwhelming design or technical credentials might oversome the language or visa hurdles, but only you can decide whether your capabilities are sufficiently strong to make this effort worthwhile.

Dec 8, 10 1:39 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!

Yet, number of job posts requiring fluent English and fluent Mandarin seem to be on a sharp increase.

My recommendation is for you to sharpen your English skills and go from there.

Dec 8, 10 4:30 pm  · 
 · 
weAREtheSTONES

not meant to be "hey, get out of my country"