Archinect
anchor

am i crazy?

AmeliaP

I'm a 27/f who graduated with a B.S. in Arch 3.5 years ago. I've been at a firm in Texas since I graduated and now make well over 45k a year plus full benefits. My job is great, it's a small arch firm inside a big engineering firm. We do higher education, industrial, and municipal work. Like my job, hate my city.

So here's my issue, I've planned on going away for school after finishing my IDP and it's that time. I'm looking at great schools far from my current city. The only school in my city is the one I attended for undergrad, and I really don't want to go there again. Am I crazy to leave this job I have now to go spend $80k on a grad degree to possibly graduate and make less than I am now?

Dec 6, 10 4:35 pm
AmeliaP

i'd really like to hear from anyone who left great jobs for grad school, but all responses are welcome.

Dec 6, 10 4:36 pm  · 
 · 
BlueMoon

...we are just all envious of you...

if you are not planning to start a family or your own gig that will really tie you up to the place you don't like, I would say wait a 1.5 years: this way you will be in 5-7 years of experience range and will have more chances to make what you make now...

Dec 6, 10 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
simcity

Don't know how much help this will be since I'm in the opposite boat in that I'm leaving grad school for a job. I should note that it is unrelated to architecture (as is my undergrad degree).

But, yes, I would have to say you are crazy. Don't do it. That you created a thread asking this already doubtful question hints your instincts are telling you not to.

If getting licensed is the issue (I don't know if you can with your degree) then it might be viable, but I would wait a few years. At the very least you will have more money saved away.

Dec 6, 10 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
olaf design ninja

I did it, worked for me and you will make more money. Basically all the same scenario except I didn't leave the region.