Archinect
anchor

Im ready to work

awkeytect

Graduated with a 5 year arch degree in may.
Interned abroad in a wonderful office until I couldnt afford it anymore... (yes, one of those)

Now Im back.
Im ready for a real job now.
Just figured Id let everyone know I was available.

Call me

Nov 7, 10 11:05 pm
Cherith Cutestory

get in line.

Nov 7, 10 11:18 pm  · 
 · 
TheMasterBuilder

Seriously, the line starts behind me.

Oh, and FYI, don't bring up the study abroad unless the interviewer asks about it. It turns out that no one cares about why you went to Italy, or what you did there. I learned that the hard way.

And how is anyone supposed to call you?

Nov 7, 10 11:51 pm  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn
Nov 8, 10 12:21 am  · 
 · 
mdler

I have 10+ years professional experience on your having graduated in May...aint got me a job

Nov 8, 10 12:37 am  · 
 · 
awkeytect

sweet unicorn.

...and someone else has 15+years experience, while someone else has 20+, yeah I get it.

Fortunately, the fact that there are other humans older than myself does not trouble me. I'll be the 'clutter' in your line who passed on quitting.

Nov 8, 10 1:36 am  · 
 · 

awkeytect, what was your 5-year BArch like, did you get much technical knowledge (drawing sets, HVAC, code, office practice)? And how did your school learning compare to your experience in a firm abroad, what did you learn there?

Just curious.

Nov 8, 10 8:53 am  · 
 · 
remus + romulus

awkey.. if you want keep a positive outlook, stay away from this website. And there's always going to be someone with more experience. It doesn't always mean they'll get a job first. Notice I say A job, not THE job.

Nov 8, 10 9:48 am  · 
 · 
med.

It's exactly why I never studied abroad... Because I knew no one would care about it.

Nov 8, 10 10:17 am  · 
 · 
Hawkin

Working and studying abroad (wherever you come from), is more and more important as the world is getting more globalized.