Archinect
anchor

Graduate Degrees

andaluz

Hello,

First timer here lookin for some wisdom. I have a BS in Arch Studies and after my experience in architectural which i greatly enjoyed and a little bit of work experience I have realized that I want to shift my focus for grad school and my career.

I became really interested in the Environmental aspect of what I was studying... but don't really know where I could take that interest and what types of degrees I should be investigating.

I think something like Environmental Science, Maybe an MBA or Law Degree and then trying to work with a company that is involved with the Green Industry... I dont know.

Obviously I am pretty new at this stuff, but I think a career heading down the lines of the expanding market for sustainability will be what I want to focus on, I just have limited exposure to what types of possibilities are out there.

If you all were trying explore a career in the "environmental (sustainable)" sector, what degrees and career paths would you be looking at?

Thanks friends.

Oct 20, 10 9:51 pm
dblock

If I were to have a professional reset button to head into environmental/ sustainability I would look at engineering. What do you like about it? The science aspect, legal aspects, financial aspects, design?... without knowing your interests its hard to point you in a direction. Or is your reasoning only profit driven due to the promise of emerging markets?
If you like the systems/technology, then engineering although it is hard to go into without an engineering undergrad.

Oct 21, 10 8:01 am  · 
 · 
andaluz

I think the appeal is being a part of an emerging market, a market that is untapped and innovative and growing. The science and financial aspects are appeal... I wouldnt want to approach it from an engineering standpoint.

Oct 21, 10 8:08 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user

Are you sure you want to block this user and hide all related comments throughout the site?

Archinect