Archinect
anchor

LightWave $ vs. 3dsMax $$

Bula

First off, I apologize if this has been covered in a previous thread”¦I'm sort of grom here”¦and I don't see a site search engine around.

I am really new to 3d cg and I am considering purchasing LightWave or 3dsMax. I am aware LightWave is about ½ the cost and possibly comes stock with a more powerful renderer than Max. My concern is since Max is primarily more of the industry standard, will using LightWave limit my file sharing options? Basically, does LightWave have the file export and import capabilities comparable to Max?

Nov 10, 04 6:03 pm
sameolddoctor

go for lwave

Nov 10, 04 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
Kai

search is at the bottom of the discussions page

Nov 10, 04 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
RqTecT

Got both love both
I wish 3ds max was cheaper

Nov 10, 04 8:35 pm  · 
 · 
Bula

Thanks Kai...I am utterly blind (so used to little tinny weenie search links)

Nov 10, 04 8:39 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

max offer the greatest flexibility, especially if you want to buy or get models from other people.
It comes with Mental Ray, which is one of the best renderers out there, although a beast to learn. The plugins are superb for Max and cover anything you could want, from clouds to faster GI (final render, vray, brazil, and soon Maxwell).

I like it, but I don't think it's the best modeler for arch viz (I don't think any of the hollywood/video game 3D packages are). I prefer FormZ for modeling buildings, but it's rendering sucks, at least until the new version comes out.

Money is a big issue. I am already committed to Max and know it, so I keep spending for upgrades (although I havn'et gotten 7 yet - 5 and Final Render work great).
If I had it to do over I'd look at Cinema 4D XL closely. It's growing in popularity and has a modular purchasing program.