Archinect
anchor

"architectural design" language for non-licensed designer

neal1313

I am a recent graduate with my MArch degree. A friend is creating a business card that I can use for drafting and small design jobs... He used my name and "architectural design". I have seen some drafting professionals use the same language. Even though I am not calling myself an architect is this crossing the line?

Thanks
Neal

Sep 1, 10 7:45 pm
Ledoux's Eye

Well, this will depend on the laws in the state (or states) in which you intend to seek projects. However, to my knowledge, most (probably all) states would consider this as holding yourself out as an architect without holding a proper license. Most (all?) states prohibit the use of the words "architect", "architectural," "architectural design" or similar wording on business cards, letterhead, phone book listings, etc., unless you are, in fact, licensed in that state. You can probably check this easily on-line at the website for the state licensing board for any state in which you are interested.

Sep 1, 10 8:09 pm  · 
 · 

What Ledoux said. Look up your state's regulations; my state, for example, prohibits offering "architectural" services unless one is registered.

Sep 1, 10 9:11 pm  · 
 · 
mespellrong

it is usually the word architect or architectural that is regulated, and only in so far as it effects matters of health and safety (basis of state claim to regulate commerce). So it is frequently fine for you to call yourself an information architect (no health and safety) or a residential, commercial, and industrial building designer (no architect).

but you should check with your state office of professional regulation. In many states if you get i wrong you will never be eligible for a license.

Sep 2, 10 12:02 am  · 
 · 
creativity expert

I have 2 cards, one says my name and contact information.

The other one says my name, "best architecture college Alumni" Barch. and contact information.