Archinect
anchor

3DS Max blues

sai

Let me preface this discussion with the fact that I graduated in 2008, and have been job hunting ever since. Yay.

It seems that most jobs I apply for are requiring some knowledge of 3ds max. What is with the sudden explosion of this software in our field? Are they even teaching this at schools? Where the eff was I? How are people learning this? I thought I was supposed to be learning Revit!

I'm so frustrated that I have a $50K degree, and somehow...in the last 2 years, now lack the required skills to get an entry level job??
What the hell.

Aug 28, 10 2:06 am
Macpod

3ds is used mainly for visualizations. most firms either use sketch or rhino to design and some use revit(but seems more of an american thing). At least that's what i have gathered over the years.

I don't think it is worth it now to learn 3ds max. you'll be pigeon holed as a renderer or animator if that is your angle of attack.

It is however vital for a grad to know some 3d modeling program. i think if you are going to learn something learn rhino. the work flow from rhino to CAD is much more integrated than 3ds max which is not a CAD package. but then again it depends on what role you want to play in the firm.

also. personally speaking it seems like 3ds plays a legacy role in some older firms because that was an industry standard before Sketch up and Rhino became more popular.

Aug 28, 10 3:55 am  · 
 · 
trace™

I don't think SU replaced Max, replaced FormZ perhaps, but not Max. Max has always been a high end visualization program (that's what we use for renderings).

Learn it. In this world, you need anything that you can get to help make yourself more valuable.

I am shocked you didn't get exposed to it in school! When I was in a school, we had to take it and that was back at v2!!

Not knowing a 3D software, esp. as a young grad, will put you at a large disadvantage.