Archinect
anchor

Open Source?

Haha Zadid

I am travelling tomorrow to the Venice Biennale and was checking out the participants. I came across this project which proposes to make architecture an open source thing, and me, as an architect, I feel offended by the way they want to transform our profession.
Honestly I don't think this Open Source Thing Thing would work at all, maybe in other fields, but not in architecture. Now people are still enthusiastic, maybe because of the Biennale, maybe because they hope that one day this is going to be a thing, I don't know. But still, authorship is as important as the project itself, so that someone in the end can take responsibility if something goes right or wrong. And besides, who is willing to give out information completely for free? Thank god, those times when intellectual property and work (software) was not considered as important as material property (hardware) and physical work, therefore unpaid. In the end we all need to pay our bills...

Aug 25, 10 9:03 pm
Rusty!

Architectural services are intellectual property. Just like software! The fact that sometimes architectural services lead to a built property (hardware) is inconsequential.

Open source is a computer industry concept that traces back to 'Hello world'. Some of the industry's biggest players (IMB, Oracle, Red Hat, even Google) are deeply involved in open source. They are also very profitable operations. They make money through support contracts (as opposed to direct sales).

Not sure how architecture could possibly go 'open source',but I would definitively welcome a higher level of transparency in the field. Why can't I still download a bunch of building codes out there? Why is AIA still charging an arm and a leg for some types of legal contract documents? Why are ASTM standards still being sold (as opposed to given to anyone that wants them)?